UH WGSS Program Graduates First Major

Cecilia_Turchetti_WGSS1stMajor_cropped
Why did you become a WGSS Major?

I loved the courses I took in the English literature program that focused on feminist literary theory and started reading independently from there. The interdisciplinary nature of the WGSS program seemed to cover all of my interests in one subject, so I made the switch.

Which WGSS class or professor made the greatest impact on you?

This is a near impossible question, but I loved the learning process I experienced in my Intro to Women’s Studies course with Dr. Lowe, the Queer Theory (and amazing articles) I learned from Dr. Luna, the Foundations of Feminist theory and Transnationalism from Dr. Quinn, and of course the literature class that started it all with Dr. Gregory.

Were there any course readings or books that stood out to you while in the program?

Honestly, there is so much to learn and absorb that I only managed to read a fraction of what I would have liked to. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Kimberlé Crenshaw on intersectionality.

How do you think majors in WGSS can make an impact on their communities?

This is a major for people who want to make the world a safer place. I don’t think I have met anyone who teaches the subject or takes the course that isn’t passionate outside of the classroom as well. My classmates are all active in political campaigns spanning from local legislation to large-scale nation-wide activism. I think the courses give us the tools to understand inequality and from there we can move forward to do something about it.

What would you say to encourage other students who are considering majoring or minoring in WGSS?

Do it!

What can the new WGSS major do for UH and the surrounding community?

The internship requirement is an awesome way to start learning about outreach and the impact the content of WGSS can have. Just getting involved and participating in local programs like at the Montrose Center or the Houston Area Women’s Center.

Are there any classes you would like to see offered at UH related to women, gender, and sexuality studies?
I think they are all coming to be, I took some really amazing classes and every semester I see more added. I would love to take a class on women in Hip-Hop and feminism.

What are your plans after graduation?

I’m going to keep volunteering at the Domestic Violence Hotline at the Houston Area Women’s Center, and I’m going to start studying for my LSATs in order to someday practice international human rights and civil rights law.

Leave a Reply

